i love toast. i really do.

But what I particularly love is the little paninoteca in downtown Durham.  The robin egg blue walls are so cheery and the high ceilings and tables in the windows are so, well, gemütlich, to borrow a word.

Last night we went to Toast for an early dinner, and I basked in the glory that is the warm goat cheese crostini with honey and cracked black pepper.  I could eat eight of those little guys, but I showed restraint at two and happily turned to my salad.

We eat many meals out at places that are fine–you pay at the counter, the food is healthy, and the kids like it (I’m thinking of you, grumpy Weaver Street Cafe), but my heart isn’t into it.  When I get to eat at Toast, however, I’m giddy. The place is pleasant and it makes me think of reading my book and grazing on my lunch.  Whatever magic powder they are sprinkling at the entrance works as crossing the threshold puts a spring in my step and makes the food taste even brighter.

1 Comment »

  1. Amy said

    I’m sure the fact that you were kid-less on this venture made it all the more cheery and relaxing. Hope all are napping at your house. Gemutlich? Google translation, here I come!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

