holidays in the kitchen

Over here we have been busy baking and decorating and eating what we just baked and decorated.  We first started off with some very tasty sugar cookies which little w. nominally helped me decorate having bailed on me after 10 or so cookies.

After I finally finished icing and carefully decorating the 67th cookie, I stepped back and said to little w., “Don’t those cookies look pretty?”  He looked at them carefully and replied, “Well, most of them do.”  Thanks.  Now if only I could make these cookies, I bet I could even impress little w.  His favorite part of baking, however, was the icing.  In fact, licking the bowl kept him occupied for the better part of 30 minutes.  How to channel this power for good…

Next up:  making gingerbread houses, but as I wasn’t up for constructing a multilevel, impeccably dressed abode (we’ll leave it to these folks), we went the graham cracker route.

And here are our modern, flat roof graham cracker houses:

I give these houses about a day as I had to yell at Big W. three times this evening to stop eating the “shrubbery.”

Leave a Reply

