because you share a love so big,

I now pronounce you frog and pig!

Last week, while I was recovering from the sure-to-be-not-last Dread Illness of the season, little e. did whatever she wanted to around the house.  She footpainted in the sunporch.  She changed clothes 11 times a day.  She ate nothing but yogurt. One late morning found me prostrate on the living room floor and watching “The Muppets Take Manhattan” with little e. sitting on my feet.

Ah, the muppets.  I used to listen to the movie soundtrack albums over and over when I was little on my red ladybug record player.  And while my kids do get a kick out of the muppets’ antics, they spend a fair amount of time puzzled by the creatures.  “Why are there so many of them?  Why do their mouths move so strangely?  Mommy!  That monster scares me!”  And so on and so forth.

Well, we all know that puppets can be spooky, but I wasn’t prepared for the spookiness of realizing that “The Muppets Take Manhattan” is quite a dated film. Yes, it isn’t just Miss Piggy’s secretary chic apparel and awesome make up, but those are awfully distracting indeed.

It’s just an ’80s kind of film–amnesia, a big splashy wedding, and celebrity cameos that anyone under the age of 30 would be hard pressed to identify.  I spent a good chunk of the movie wondering in my fever induced haze if that was really Brooke Shields (hard to tell without those close-ups of her Latisse eyelashes) and how I would like to watch a slow motion morphing of Joan Rivers from her shop clerk character to today’s, uh, character.  I did, however, very much like Gregory Hines as the cute roller skater wannabe (“Keep the skates. Keep the skates. I don’t use ’em anyway; I just like to run around in shorts.”).

Obviously, I know that whenever you step into the territory of things that you used to like as a child, there are land mines all around you.  Your kids hate it!  You have to leave the room after 10 minutes yourself!  You realize what you made your poor parents sit through and immediately call and apologize!  “The Muppets Take Manhattan” didn’t descend to this level by any stretch but merely left me feeling like a very, very old 1980s carbon-dated dinosaur.  And that doesn’t make one want to get up off of the living room floor.

2 Comments »

  1. Jason said

    This was the first movie I saw in the theatre!! High art indeed!

  2. eluet said

    I think my first movie was E.T. My kids–Kung Fu Panda. This is a fun game!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

